Testimonials

  • "Incredible day!!"

    I can't recommend this enough, we did the full alpine crossing with Terry and had an amazing experience! We're both novice hikers so were a bit dubious about the walk but Terry supplied all the equipment and made the day so easy and enjoyable! He has knowledge about the volcanoes and the region that is invaluable, had we attempted the crossing alone we'd have ignorantly passed lava flows and other intriguing features of the landscape without noticing them! I would personally recommend going with Tongariro Guided Walks over other tour groups as you get a much more personal experience, the other groups to us looked a bit over booked... Again, can't rate it highly enough - worth every penny! :)

    DaisyC visited and reviewed in July 2016

Winter Red Crater 1 Tongariro Guided Walks

"Excellent guide for a stunning part of the world"

Terry and his team of guides are extremely knowledgeable and friendly about Tongariro park. I did the Alpine Crossing and then a series of smaller hikes throughout the park and had a tremendously good time. Many thanks!!! Also, the lunches are excellent and there is more than enough food, even for a strenuous day hike.

rjw79 Visited December 2015 reviewed Feb 2016

"Amazing day in nature"

My girlfriend and I did the Tongariro Alpine Crossing in late September of 2015. We were lucky enough to get a blue sky day. Our personal guide was Terry from Walking Places. We had a blast! Terry was wonderful, full of detail information in regards to the area and NZ in general. There was plenty of snow on the top so he provided us with ice axes and crampons. That was a really joyful activity. Views were amazing top to bottom, we could not get enough. For 10 days in NZ we did a variety of activities but this was our favorite by far. A perfect combination of a wonderful hike, stunning views, volcanoes, mountains, nature and very knowledgeable and fun guide (thank you Terry!). Highly recommended and a must do for any NZ visit!

MartinN83 visited in Sept 2015 and reviewed in Nov 2015

TAC Red Crater Summit 2 Tongariro Guided Walks

"Gets to the heart of the Park"

If you want a superb day exploring the Tongariro park and its volcanoes/flora/points of interest then Terry is your man. We did not want to do the Tongariro crossing as we only had a few days in the area but wanted to see as much of the park as possible. Terry and his 4x4 got us to places we could never have dreamed of getting to.
His drive into the desert revealed a stunning out of world landscape that you would never have got to normally....real Lord of the Rings stuff....basically he knows the most spectacular sites and how to get to them. He will tailor your day to balance locations with as little or as much walking as you want to do, not everyone wants to undertake the crossing...as Terry himself says it is fairly strenuous and some arrive not knowing what they have let themselves in for!
His dialogue is fascinating, witty and sometimes opinionated...he is passionate about conservation and the preservation of the park...volcanoes permitting!!
Highly recommended!

bobwood Visited and reviewed in December 2015

"La marche d'un jour et peut etre d'une vie"

Ne pas trop en parler, c'est mieux. Le faire à son rythme, selon ses moyens. Bien équipé, le climat varie vite. Cette marche nous l'avons faite avec Doug, un guide de Terry (Walking Places). Si vos moyens vous le permettent alors n'hésitez pas, l'organisation est parfaite. Terry mérite ce coup de pouce. Bonne marche à vous, bonne chance à lui.

Alain L Visited November 2013 and Reviewed November 2013

"Le Tongariro avec Terry est une journee inoubliable"

Terry est un guide absolument parfait. Ultra sympathique, il nous a parlé toute la journée (pas évident pendant l'ascension qui plus est), de ses passions : la rando et sa région.
Nous avons donc appris une tonne de choses sur lesquelles nous serions sans doute passé à côté sans guide : la formation des montagnes, l'histoire de la régions, les influences maoris, le tournage du seigneur des anneaux etc... Terry est une vraie bible.
Mais ce qui a été agréable est que nous avons parlé aussi de beaucoup d'autre choses : de rugby bien sur, mais aussi de voyage, de l'Europe où il a passé une année. Bref c'est une personne passionante, que nous sommes ravis d'avoir rencontré.
Il prend aussi grand soin de vous, avec un petit chocolat chaud préparé par ses soins au sommet, un super pique-nique, et une bonne boisson fraiche à l'arrivée.
Et pour courroner le tout, il a un accent anglais très facile à comprendre pour les "non-fluent".

TomamandZ visited Fb 2012 and reviewed May 2012

"One of the best days of my life ticked off my bucket list!"

Did a guided walk today with terry from "walking places" awesome trip! Learnt more history about Nz in 7 hours than I did in 4 years at college.......,.,the national park is stunning, emerald lakes stunning imprinted in my mind forever - walk not nearly as hard as I thought it would be - I am 50 hubby 60 a must do for baby boomers looking for exciting weekend getaway

Walked and Reviewed by Wondercap April 2012

  • Terry,

  • Rebecca and I just wanted to say a quick thank you for showing us the sights of the Alpine walk the other day. I'd write you a lengthy testimonial, only we're enjoying ourselves in Napier now too and want to make the most of our remaining time in NZ before we move on to Australia for the next part of our adventure. We'd both love to come back again (perhaps in the winter too so we can see the area all white too). Kind regards

    Phil and Rebecca Castle (Kent UK) 20/11/10.
  • Hi Terry,
     
    Thank you for giving the details on flowers, plants and trees. Your guided tour was very special. In itself the nature in New Zealand is already amazing and wonderful, but your stories and explanation makes it double worthwile and memorable.
    So thanks again and greetings from
  • Jan Willem and Lidy Gulickx (Netherlands) 11/5/10.
  • Thanks Terry- the girls were ecstatic about getting to the top-most hadn’t done this type of walk before. Thank you for all your interesting information about the area-it makes the whole trip much more worthwhile to have your input.

  • Joy Butler, St Orans School Wellington NZ 13/4/2010
  • Hey Terry,

    Thanks SO much for yesterday. We had such an awesome experience with you. We both woke a little sore and stiff but can not stop talking about you and the whole day.

     We will recommend you to anyone who intends to travel to NZ and would love to keep in touch.

    All the best and hopefully we will be back and will get you to take us up another track in the future.

    Rachel and Les Toth (Australia) 9/3/10